Out Of South Africa…

 

Lisa Miller Erickson
Taking a little time to see the beauty of South Africa

South Africa is a country of extremes. Extreme wealth to extreme poverty, extreme love to extreme hatred, and the list could go on. I am more grateful for the United States and all her faults than before I left. I have come away from South Africa permanently changed by her people and their love. South Africa is a country full of passions and passionate people. I have been blessed to have had the opportunity to see and experience all of her, the good the bad and the ugly.

 

Poor housing in South Africa
Deplorable Housing

I have leaned that good defines bad and bad defines good and one with out the other is nothing.

Jerimiah Project
Hunger

Event though parts of South Africa broke my heart into pieces that will never fit back together the same way, I can’t wait to go back. Their love and genuine care for humanity in many people was astounding. Considering, that many do not even have their basic needs met on a daily basis (food, clean water, and shelter) they are still filled with unbelievable joy.

 

Loving Africa
They all touched my heart

Lessons learned through action are no longer “just” lessons but a tidal wave of change through action.

I learned more about myself than I did about Africa and her people.

  • I have a new definition for love.
  • I have a better understanding of what true joy is
  • What sacrifice is and isn’t
  • And why God allows heartache

 

Julian
Oh Julian, may God protect you...

More to come about Africa.

One thought on “Out Of South Africa…

  1. I enjoyed reading about your trip to South Africa. The beauty of the country is as remarkable as the poverty is devastating.

Leave a Reply

