Blue-Gill Chowder

Fishing  with Lisa Marie Erickson
I was the first to catch one on our fishing date....

I love fishing. I have been fishing since I could walk. I never get tired of seeing my boys enjoy the sport too. What I do get tired of, is figuring out what to do with 3 or four small fish that they have caught and it’s not enough to feed the family.

Fishing date
...yes, his was bigger than mine!

Not long ago my husband and I went out to a restaurant for lunch and he ordered clam chowder. I had forgotten how much he loves it (cause I’m mean and never make it). I also, for got how much I hate clams ( they remind me of oyster stew..super yuck! We used to call them elephant booggers). I thought, what if I added fish to it instead? Shazzam! Score big time! 10 points for mom and wife. We have been making this soup ever since. Just quickly clean what you’ve caught and toss them in the freezer for a wonderful hearty soup for this fall and winter. Happy fishing…the snow is a comin!

Cleaning Blue gills
Yes I clean them too....

Directions

  1. Pour clam juice from into a large skillet over the onions, celery, potatoes and carrots. Add water to cover, and cook over medium heat until tender. Add fish pieces and continue to cook until fish is no longer pink.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large, heavy saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Whisk in flour until smooth. Whisk in cream and stir constantly until thick and smooth. Stir into vegetables and fish. Heat through, but do not boil. Stir in vinegar, and season with salt and pepper. Serve with crusty french bread.
One thought on “Blue-Gill Chowder

Leave a Reply

