Fall Comfort Foods: Beef Roast

Making leaf nests
I think we all -young and old, should go find a leaf pile today to lay in!

Fall is here…sorta. It’s been close to 85 degrees for over a week now!  Really? This is my favorite time of the year! I may have to rethink that global warming thing. I’m ready for the cooler weather. Most of my friends tell me I’m crazy for wanting cold and snow. But just think of all the fun cooking you can accomplish!!!!! Spice cakes, ginger breads, stews, fresh baked breads, whole roasted chickens with mashed potatoes and gravy, yummmm. My mouth is watering and its only 9:30 am as I type this up. I do not like to heat up the house even more when it’s already hot outside. My cooking is stifled! I resort to cold salads and BBQ‘s. Both get boring after the sixth week!

Isn’t it almost always about the food with us foodies (we will die with out it..right?)? I’m embarrassed to say, my table is already set for dinner tonight. The salad dressing is made for the salad and the meat is thawing. The pasta is sitting on the counter, ready to be boiled (we are having beef stroganoff on egg pasta noodles). The dessert is assembled ready to be baked (mini apple hand pies). Is there anyone else out there as crazy as me??

Last night we had our favorite fall meal. Slow roasted Flemish beef roast. My son asked me at the table last night, “Mom, would you rather have a million dollars or be able to eat this everyday with as many people you wanted?” Of coarse I said, “I will take the beef roast and feed all of Africa.-I hope they like beef roast?

Slow Roasted Beef
Serve with mashed potatoes and gravy

This is the best recipe for roast beef I have found. We have been cooking this recipe for many years. I adapt it to venison (I’m out of venison and I am waiting for any of friends who bow hunt, to help me out with this) when I have some.

I hope many of you seeing this in Colorado or Wyoming where there is snow, get to really enjoy warming comfort foods! I’m so excited for the cool air and blazing fire in the fireplace.

Cooking beef and venison
Be sure and save a sip for yourself!

Most of my favorite recipes are easy and this one is no exception. I have 4 kids and multiple things going on. I love good food but it has to be realistic and easy to cook! I love cooking but when my babies are home I want to spend time with them not be stuck cooking some extravagant dish they really could care less about. Having kids in college will do this to you!

Lisa Erickson's Children
My beautiful monkeys!

Lisa’s Flemish Beef or Venison Pot Roast.

1 3-5 lbs of beef or venison

1can beer

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tsp salt

1 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp dry thyme

2 onions quartered

Pepper to taste

8-10 carrots chopped into big pieces

Preheat oven to 350. Brown roast over med-high heat until both sides are golden brown. Pour beer down the side of the pan. Sprinkle brown sugar over the top of the roast. sprinkle the rest of the ingredients over the top of the brown sugar and place onions in the beer alone the sides of  of the roast. Cover tightly and cook for about 3 hours and add carrots,by placing them on top of the onions and push them down into the liquid surrounding the roast. and continue to cook for 1-2 more hours until roast is super tender and carrots are tender. If the roast is cooking to fast lower the oven temp to 325. Serve with mashed potatoes and gravy. This roast make the best gravy!

The best beef roast
Dump it all in!

Check out my next blog post….

Cooking tomato soup
Up next...cooking with kids!
3 thoughts on “Fall Comfort Foods: Beef Roast

Leave a Reply

