Answering a Listener’s Question on Venison

Easy wild game recipes
The most important things in life, are the people we love.

Lisa, I listened to you on WCCO radio not too long ago and looked at your wild chow website.  It is very helpful.  I need help with venison.  I have chops and roast left from a deer I shot last fall and I am looking for  help.  Too often the cook books I find and purchase, require me to be a French chef and cook with wine, etc.  Do you have any advise for me and my venison and any advice on how to best prepare it?

Thank you for any help.

Craig

Craig-

Your question is one that I get over and over. Although cooking and baking is my passion and my job, I put my family and friends first. Which leaves me with limited time on my hands. My husband and I have 4 children and usually extra kids hanging around too. Spending time with them has become my #1 one priority in my life. There was a time when I didn’t do that and the result was lots of good food but my home life was chaotic. I since, with the help of my loving husband, got my priorities right and encourage others to spend less time in the kitchen and more time building relationships. As a result, I have come up with lots of recipes that are easy to make, tasty, and are good for you.  They may not be the best you have ever tasted but they are filled with love for my family and wanting to keep my life simple and healthy.

I still make those amazing fancy French out of this world dinners but, only when time allows and I’m not infringing on family time. You won’t find many of those recipes here. What you will find is easy and normal recipes that even my 10-year-old could make.

Here is a very easy recipe that I make frequently during the winter months and my family loves it and is great for using up those left overs in the freezer.

Slow Cooker Stroganoff

2-3 lbs of Venison Chops or Roast cubed into bite size pieces (I use beef when I’m out of venison)

1 can of cream celery soup

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 envelope onion soup mix

Place all ingredients in the crock pot, stir, and cook on low for 8 hours covered. When the stroganoff is done, thin with 1/4- 1/2 cup of water and stir in a 1/2 cup sour cream. Serve over noodles or rice.  Don’t be temped to add water or anything when you are first adding ingredients to the crock pot. It does thin out and gives you room to thin it out at the end of the cooking time. I also like to use reduced sodium soups.

I have also included three recipes down below high lighted in red you can try too!

Happy Family Time!!!

One thought on “Answering a Listener’s Question on Venison

Leave a Reply

