Fantastic Side Dishes; Corn Souffle

Jiffy corn muffin mix
Cook-in up stuff in a jiffy today!

What I Am Thankful For

Thanksgiving is just around the corner and I started thinking about all the things I am thankful for around the end of September. Usually, the first thing that comes to my mind is the cool weather, but my family, house, and good food are always at the top of the list. But this year, I have been thinking a little differently. I usually think about the big things; like my home for instance. My home is a wonderful place but, without running water it would not be the same or, if it didn’t have a bed I would have no place to rest and my home would not be a home anymore. I have found a new appreciation for the little things that help make up the great things.

When I think of Thanksgiving, the first thing that comes to my mind is the turkey. But, what about the sides that make the turkey taste even better? I try to think of what Thanksgiving would be like if there wasn’t any gravy or no green bean casserole. I think my sister would die if there weren’t any sweet potatoes. My kids would not even bother showing up if I didn’t make their favorite corn soufflé. And what if my dad’s famous apple stuffing wasn’t somewhere on my plate-it just wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without it.

It’s all the little things in life that make those special events even greater. So next time you sit down at the table and give thanks for the food, don’t forget to be thankful for the plate that it all sits on, the table that you sit at and most of all the family you are blessed to share it with.

We love this side dish with just about anything!

 

Erickson’s Famous Corn Soufflé

1 can corn (do not drain)

1 can cream corn

3 eggs, beaten

1 box of jiffy corn muffin mix

1 stick of butter

½ cup chopped green pepper

1 onion chopped

2 cups cheddar cheese divided

 

Spray a 9×13” baking pan with cooking spray and pre-heat oven to 350. Sauté onion and green pepper in butter until tender, let cool. Mix corn (do not drain), cream corn, muffin mix, eggs, and 1 cup of the cheese in a large mixing bowl. Add the sautéed onions, pepper, and butter to the corn mixture and stir to combine. Pour it into the prepared pan and sprinkle remaining cheese on top. Bake for 40 minutes, until cheese is golden brown. Let it cool for 5 minutes and slice into squares and serve warm.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

