Venison Stroganoff

13 year olds first buck
The smile says it all!

I lost the deer hunting competition this year. Not only did I lose, but so did my husband. The competition was really between the two of us. I forgot that our son Lee was going hunting this year too. I made some pretty big claims but you actually have to go hunting in order to fulfill them. I know it’s an excuse that I took a new job but I was just too tired to hunt this year.

dressing the deer
Look at my little dog wantings piece of the action

I am thankful Lee did go hunting this year or I would not have any venison to create new recipes with. I was so proud of him, he even gutted his own deer all by himself!.

I asked Lee what he wanted to do with his buck. He said he wanted to make jerky. I am very excited to try some new jerky recipes that I have been hanging on to for a couple of years (we need to work on our hunting skills and find a spot with more deer). I asked him If I could have the back-strap to cook with and he gladly let me cook some of his favorites.

The first night we made venison stroganoff. I love this recipe because it is very simple and I can cook it after work in a short amount of time. Everyone loves the back-strap. Tastes just like beef tenderloin.

I wish I had a picture for you, but I don’t. Trust me this recipe is wonderful!

Venison Stroganoff

6oz of back-strap cubed per person, this recipe serves 4

Strong beef broth 10oz

2 T. oil

3 T. flour

3 T. butter

1 cup sour cream

Salt and pepper to taste

Before you start this recipe, I want to tell you it will taste best if you do not over cook it. I like to think of it like a steak done medium rare. I know this is hard for some of you and you can cook it longer if you like, but it may not be as tender.

Completely dry off the meat. This is the key to moist and tender meat. In a heavy bottom or cast iron pan, heat until very hot. Add oil, I like to wait until I can see some wisps of smoke. Put enough meat in to saute it, with out the meat touching. After the meat has formed a crust on the bottom, turn the pieces one by one. when the meat is all browned, set it aside on a plate and continue cooking the rest of the meat.

Reduce the heat. Melt the butter with the remaining flour and cook for one min, working up the bits of browned meat on the bottom of the pan. Add the broth to the pan and whisk until slightly thickened. Add salt and pepper. Add the 1/2 sour cream and return the meat to the broth mixture. Serve over egg noodles or with boiled potatoes. Dollop the rest of the sour cream on top of each plate full. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

