New Year Resoultions…Cheers to Smoothies!

Every year, I think about making a New Year resolution. Usually, they are in the realm of self improvements. Apparently, I’m not alone. Many of my Face-Book friends posted their New Year resolutions for everyone to see on their home page. I like the idea of a public proclamations to help keep oneself accountable, but then again, I’d have to attempt to live up m, “ sometimes” unattainable resolutions!

This year, I read the normal phrases like; lose weight, go on a diet, eat better, or to eat once a day with my family.  Many of my own resolutions in the past have resembled those same statements and some of my resolutions in the past have included; to be a better mother (ongoing), better wife (love is all you need? Right?), and to be a better daughter (Mom and Dad, I’ve come along way!), have a cleaner house (note to self, hire a cleaning lady), to work harder (really, is that possible for most of us?), read more books (I need more hours in the day). All are admirable goals, but not really a resolution that can be accomplished in a year, more like a lifetime. I think I will make a list of goals in the back of my 30 year planner.

Resolutions frustrate me. They always seem a tad out of reach or require a complete lifestyle change. I’ve also found by focusing on one area of improvement, all other areas of my life seem to suffer. Like reading more books for example, that would require more time and rearranging my life to accommodate that resolution. I could give up making dinner for the family so I have more time to read (Can you say anarchy?)? I could quit exercising, then I would have about one extra hour a day (I don’t need any more health issues). I could take a shower once a week…okay that’s not really an option. But you get the point; it requires more that I have to give at this point in my life. Instead, I could make a choice to ride a stationary bike while exercising instead of running, and then I would be able to ride and read!

So, this year as far as the healthy eating resolution goes, I’m going to commit to eating one healthy meal a day. I am picking breakfast, mostly, because it’s easiest to make healthy and requires the least amount of planning. Smoothies are super easy and healthy! You can make all kinds of smoothies too! Some good and some that are not so good. Lately, my husband is into the veggie smoothie thing and has been known to add carrots and broccoli to our standard mixture of blueberries, almond milk, yogurt, bananas, raw eggs (not for the faint of heart) and walnuts. I can handle just about anything, but when he started dumping green peppers and cauliflower in there too. I had to wave my white flag and ask for something a little more palatable because it was starting to resemble Gazpacho and not a smoothie.

You can slough off spinach in a green smoothie and maybe carrots but cauliflower would taste better in an omelet! I love the idea of getting all the benefits of healthy fruits and nuts in a quick fix like a smoothie. Here are my 2 favorite smoothies. Remember you can change them to fit your tastes and even create your own flavor combo. I hope to hear about some of your new smoothie ideas!

Happy New Year!

Coming soon! All new super easy Wild Game recipes!!

Green Smoothies

2 cups yogurt (plain or vanilla flavored)

2 cups frozen sliced peaches

1 cup frozen mango

1-2 cups fresh spinach

1-2 cups of milk (dairy, soy, rice, or almond)

Place all ingredients in a blender and slowly pulse until all of the spinach is incorporated and the smoothie has a beautiful green color to it. Feel free to add more milk to get the desired consistence you like.

Healthy Nut and Berries Smoothie

1 cup of frozen wild blueberries

1 cup frozen cranberries

1 cup greek yogurt

1-2 cups Almond milk

1 Banana (frozen)

1/4 cup walnuts

Place all ingredients in the blender and mix/pulse until it is the consistence you like. Add more milk if you like. This smoothie is thick and I have been known to eat them with a spoon!

Leave a Reply

