Minnesota bound State Fair Granola Recipe

Minnnesota Bound with Lisa Erickson
Cooking granola for the Minnesota State Fair

Hello everyone! So glad you stopped by to see me! I have been so busy with some super fun cooking demos and coordinating events for Trollhaugen Ski Area.

Thank you for all the interest in the granola recipe. As you saw on MN Bound, it’s super easy! I love granola and it’s a healthy snack that travels well.

1 cup oatmeal

1 cup bran cereal

1 cup rice cereal

1/2 cup almonds

3 tablespoons butter

3/4-1 cup Maple syrup

In a large bowl, mix oatmeal, rice cereal, and almonds together. Heat maple syrup and butter in a sauce pan until mixture comes to a boil. Pour over cereal and stir to coat.

Bake at 300 for 1 to 1-1/2 hours or until granola is golden brown. Let cool and break into pieces. Add your our special touches. I love dried fruits, and white chocolate pieces.

Keep in an air tight container. If granola becomes stale, just remove dried fruits and chocolate re-toast in the oven at 300 degrees for 15 minutes!

Coming up soon are some brand new recipes from The family camping trip to Yellow Stone National Park. All my recipes are tried and tested on adults and kids! Coming from a busy mother of 4, I dont have a lot of time for shenanigans! I know many of you dont either. We all want easy good food for our families!

9 thoughts on “Minnesota bound State Fair Granola Recipe

  1. Is the Oatmeal old fashioned or instant – I am assuming old fashioned but hate to assume. And do you add the bran cereal along with the rice cereal? I didn’t see it mentioned.

  2. with your recipe there was to much liquid after I added the ingredients.. I added another 1/2 a cup of the cereal and oatmeal and the helped.. Thanks for the recipe we LOVE it.. It works well for our daughter when she has gymnastics practice and just snacks..

    1. Susan I like to use he flakes, but the buds will work too. I’ve made this recipe many different ways and with different ingredients. Enjoy!!
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

