Wildly Good Treats: Banana Oatmeal Mini Loaves

Mini loaves of banana bread

I love these pans. They make what ever I bake in them more fall-ish,(My spell check does not like that new word) but it’s true. A simple banana bread loaf is ushered into a new realm with the imprint of an acorn or a leaf on it.

Spray for cake pans

It only took me once to forget to spray the pan with my trusty old Bakers Joy. This has nothing to do with apples, but they were all over the counter. That will be my next project, what to do with apples when your sick of sugar…I will get over it…don’t worry! Oh, and the bananas were so black, they might have ruined your idea of wonderful banana bread.

Nordic ware baking pans

Spray every nook and cranny. If you don’t have spray, melt some butter in cup and with a basting brush, brush each cup. Then sprinkle with flour. Tap out all extra flour.

Oatmeal banana bread batter

This recipe is soooo easy. I adapted it from Ina Garten’s banana granola muffins. After you put the batter in the pans, make sure you tap them down on the counter ( I love this part, I get to make a noise louder than my boys can make) so all the batter fills into the molds. Just looking at this makes my saliva glands go into over drive. I have a thing for batters…and no, I have never gotten sick from eating raw eggs. I’ll save my comments on that for another day.

Warm banana bread

Welcome fall.

Banana Oatmeal Bread

3 cups AP flour
1/2 cup oatmeal
2 Cup Sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup melted butter

2 very ripe bananas mashed
3/4 cup butter milk
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 eggs

Mix all dry ingredients together. Slowly add melted butter and mix completely.

In a separate bowl, whisk all the wet ingredients together. Mix with the butter and flour, just until mixed. Pour into prepared mini loaf pans and bake for 20-25 minutes at 350.

Serve warm with butter smeared all over each slice and listen to your family say how wonderful of a cook you are…then share some or you will eat it all yourself!

Banana bread
We cannot live on bread alone….
 
2 thoughts on “Wildly Good Treats: Banana Oatmeal Mini Loaves

  1. Love the new look of your blog/site. Very nice. These sound yummy, I may have to make them for Wyatt soon. Can they be made in a regular loaf pan or muffin tins? would the temp or time have to be adjusted. Or I may need to buy myself some cute mini loaf pans. 🙂

    1. Glad you like! I have been working hard on it! Yes, you can do big loaf pans. Increase the cooking time to 55-60 min. We like the mini’s because we don’t like to wait for the big loafers. Plus, they really do turn anything in to fall mode.
      Happy Baking!
      PS George got in the car after school and asked for some of that yummy banana bread! Score!

Leave a Reply

