# 5 Of 10 Things Everyone Should Know About Cooking Wild Game

Trophy Buck
Hunters Dream or Nightmare?

No. 5

Trophy Bucks are just that, “Trophies”

My dear husband has yet to get that, “Trophy Buck,” I am secretly hoping he never does. I have had friends give us meat from the prized buck and I have yet to say, “Wow, that was great” usually it’s tough and gamier than a normal. Plus, with Chronic Wasting Disease, I think we’ll pass.

Camp fire Hobos were one of my favorite recipes growing up. There is something about having your own package of food. My kids still love to get the lunchables, because of the packaging. I chose this recipe for Minnesota Bound because it is quick, easy and a fun way to introduce city slickers to wild game.

Filming for Minnesota Bound
Filming Day

The cooking portion of the episode is short and always in the very middle of the show.  It’s not hard to find.

You can use any kind of ground meat. We like venison or beef for the flavor. Mix it up and make it your own by adding some interesting ingredients! Enjoy an easy night off from cooking and dishes! That’s my Wild Chow!

Check out the latest Minnesota Bound Recipe-

http://www.mnbound.com/watch-mn-bound/

Campfire Hobos

4 potatoes, sliced

4 carrots, coined

4 onions, sliced

1 cup frozen peas, divided

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 lb ground meat, beef,  venison, turkey or chicken made into 1/4 lb patties

Seasoned salt and pepper

Tinfoil

Place 2 layers of tinfoil on your counter. Place one patty on bottom of foil, season with salt and pepper, then layer 1onion slice, potatoes, carrots, and peas. Place one scoop of mushroom soup over the top and repeat for each Hobo. Gather foil up and press together sealing the Hobos. Try to make a handle if you will be cooking these over an open fire.  Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees or until potatoes are tender. Serve directly from the foil for a fun no mess dinner!  Your kids will love you!

Filming for Minnesota Bound
These really are one of my favorite meals. As soon as the cameras stopped rolling, I was filling my face!
11 thoughts on “# 5 Of 10 Things Everyone Should Know About Cooking Wild Game

  1. Should mushroom soup be mixed or leave condensed?

    Thanks

    Dan (Friend of your friend Kathleen Hartman)

    ________________________________

  2. Dad told me once that adrenaline will add a lot of gamey flavor the meat and it’s best to drop it on the first shot. And I agree, the bigger the buck the tougher the meat.

  3. Awesome. This back woods boy will turn his city slicker girlfriend on to your page. Hopefully she becomes convinced to start cooking what I harvest 🙂 Thanks for the recipes.

    1. She will, it takes some time. Took me almost 10 years and now I live, breath, and eat the outdoors life! Most of my recipes are made for city slickers and they should be mild enough. If not have her try caviar and pate…then she will think wild game is mild!

Leave a Reply

