# 7 of 10 Things Everyone Should Know About Cooking Wild Game

Pheasant pizzaThe perfect Friday night meal to have a City Slicker try wild game!

No. 7

If you cook it, they will eat it-

I have a few friends that I call city slickers (I used to be one too). Some of them hardly even leave the city! Many of them had never eaten wild game until they met me. I have to confess, I have served wild game secretly to them just to prove a point.

You can cook wild game well. So well in fact, that even those with even the most discriminating  palettes will not even be able to proclaim during a meal they are eating wild game. I have had the same trick pulled on me and yes, I knew it was wild game because it was poorly prepared. I now inform all my guests they are eating wild game before I serve it to them.  I also will offer an alternative along with a laundry list of all the benefits wild game offers that beef cannot. I learned the hard way, it’s always best to let people ease into trying something new. A perfectly cooked meal is hard to resist or cook something familiar like Pizza with a twist, like pheasant pizza! Trust me they will try it!

Pizza Dough

Pheasant Pizza

One recipe for pizza dough

1 clove garlic

2 Tablespoon of Olive oil

1/2 red pepper, sliced

1/2 large sweet onion, sliced

2 oz of Feta cheese

1-2 cups of mozzarella cheese

1 cup cooked and marinated pheasant in balsamic vinegar (recipe follows)

Heat oven to 550 or 500 (your ovens highest setting). Stretch out pizza dough on to a piece of parchment paper. Take your time and let the dough rest if it won’t stretch. Spread 1 Tablespoon olive oil over crust dough. Crush (I use a micro planer to make a garlic puree) garlic and spread over the crust on top of the olive oil. Top with mozzarella cheese, snap peas, red pepper slices, onion, feta and cooked pheasant.

Using a pizza peel (or cookie sheet), slide pizza directly on to the middle to upper oven rack and Bake for 12-15 minutes until crust is brown and cheese is bubbling. Paper will darken but your crust will be perfect! Drizzle with balsamic reduction and remaining 1 T of olive oil.

Pheasant breastYou can use Chicken too!

Balsamic Vinegar Pheasant

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1 cup cubed pheasant breast

salt and pepper

Cut pheasant in to bite size pieces mix with the vinegar and marinate for 1/2 hour. Remove pheasant from marinade and saute pheasant over med heat just until cooked. Do not over cook! Pheasant will continue to cook in the oven with the pizza. If you want for more flavor,  reduce the remaining marinade-vinegar by cooking it slowly until reduced by half then drizzle it over the pizza when it is done cooking.

perfect pizza crust at home

7 thoughts on “# 7 of 10 Things Everyone Should Know About Cooking Wild Game

  1. [?][?][?]Do you have a recipe that you would recommend for using smoked pheasant breasts? I thought of making a pheasant pizza with Jarlsberg cheese and fresh cranberries…on a Lavosch cracker. I would appreciate any ideas you may have. Thanks for the great recipes. Michele Punta Gorda FL

Leave a Reply

