# 8 of How to Cook Wild Game: Venison Tenderloins

Bacon wrapped venison

You can cook amazing steaks at home…in the oven!

No. 8

Flash cooking 101 – Do not over cook lean cuts of wild game

Many of the recipes I started cooking wild game with were like hand me down clothes from an older sibling, a little worn out from over cooking. Many of the recipes I found were for the crock pot. While I like using the crock pot, many cuts of wild game dry out and is way over cooked.

After many trials and errors, I found the best way to cook wild game is, “just until it’s done,” or even under cooking it. I call it flash cooking, because it’s done in a flash, which in turn, also helps me eat more vegetable that are not cooked to a mush and have more nutritional value left in them. This is the kind of cooking my mom and dad cooked for me growing up.  Because we didn’t have a lot of time, flash cooking was the only option. Many French recipes cook meats until they are, “just done.” As a general rule, cook most meat to a safe temperature of 165 degrees.

I think tenderloin is my favorite cut of meat.

Here is how to butterfly and wrap your venison tenderloin in bacon and cook them perfectly!

We like ours medium rare, but you cook it how you like it. Remember, any good cut of steak will get dry if it’s over cooked.

First, when you process your venison (we process it all our selves. We want to make sure its done properly and we get the cuts we want) save the tenderloin and back straps for steaks. I will post some other recipes for marinades and other yummy dishes soon now that my freezer is full again!!

venison

venison steaksSee how I split them down the middle and then I gather them together.

Venison tenderloinsI let them sit for a couple of days. Now wrap then in bacon before you cook them and secure them with a tooth pick.

Bacon wrapped venison steaks

Perfectly cooked venison filets

6 thoughts on “# 8 of How to Cook Wild Game: Venison Tenderloins

  1. Reblogged this on 323 Archery Shoot and commented:
    I grow my own rosemary and thyme – adding a fresh, 4-5″ rosemary sprig over the meat, or using some of the older, less productive lower branches as a wood-smoke addition is good for flavor as well.

    1. I sometimes do that too. Try this; in a bag or bowl, pour enough olive oil to coat your filet. Toss in a clove of garlic chopped up a little and the sprig of rosemary. It’s a perfect trio for venison that has been hanging around the freezer to long! I will have to try the wood smoke idea…sounds good! Enjoy and thanks for re-posting!

Leave a Reply

