First Time Hunter: Bags the Big-Little

image

I did it. I am a Hunter.

This blog is for all the women whose husband’s hunt (guys show this to your gals). This post is for anyone who wonders what it’s like to hunt. This story is for the new hunter so they can know what to expect. I will post later this week about the guts-n-stuff. I will ease you into it. No, there will not be pictures, but I will tell you where you can get some.

I have been walking with my hunter husband for years. I have never carried a gun before, let alone killed something besides a fish. This past weekend was very different. Not only did I hunt, but I hunted alone, way outside my comfort zone-I hunted with out my family. Why? Because girls or women aren’t allowed at the hunting shack (the men are the ones missing out). That’s fine. I was raised to fend for myself and that’s what I will do…if I have to. What did I gain? Confidence. And, a freezer full of clean healthy venison.

In the past, I think there must be some sort of internal desire to hunt or you would starve. I will admit, I am a bit of a tomboy and I always have been one. I grew up outside playing in the woods. I built forts, gathered “things” from the wild, and captured creatures. Dolls were not my thing….ever. If I  played “dolls” with my sister, I would build them things. Like boats out of shoe boxes or houses from my emptied dresser drawers. Being outside was where I was happy. If my sister would let me, we would sail her dolls down the creek in makeshift boats to explore new lands. So hunting for me came out if desire to be outside in the woods. Hunting fits me from the outdoors aspect.

The only part of hunting I had to get over was “killing” something. My husband kept telling me it’s like fishing. IT IS NOT LIKE FISHING! Life doesn’t scare me anymore. I fear God. Killing something seemed very religious to me and very serious. It needed to be necessary. Taking the life of something else, so I can eat is a harsh concept for me. I had never seen the killing or gutting , skinning or leg cutting……process, but I knew I need too, if I was ever going to fully understand where my food comes from. I think all of AMERICA needs to see this. I thought I would cry, but I didn’t, I’m stronger than I thought.

I had thought through the process, farm to table, again and again. Did I really understand it though? No. Have I raised an animal to be eaten (eggs don’t count)? No. But, yet I eat meat every day. Have I wasted meat? Yes. After this experience will I again? No. The things I have taken for granted living in a society of too much. To look a creature in the eye and know you are going to kill it. That it gave up its life for me…wow. All there is left to say is thank you and eat and be wise.

Will I hunt again. Yes.

Now for the good part. The reward. The dinner. Today’s feature is:

Beer Braised Venison Roast

imageThis recipe is easy and delicious. Serve it with my recipe for corn souffle.

image

Beer Braised Venison Roast

1-3 lbs venison roast

2 onions quartered

1 tsp garlic powder or 2 cloves fresh garlic minced

3 sprigs of fresh thyme or 1 tsp dried

1/4 cup brown sugar

1-2 tsp salt

pepper

1 can of beer

1/2 cup cooked bacon (optional)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Place leg roast in a large pot with a tight-fitting lid. Sprinkle sugar over top of the roast, then garlic, salt, and pepper. Place onions on sides around the roast and top the roast with thyme. Pour beer carefully down the side of the pan, being careful not to touch the roast and knock the sugar or salt off of it (it bakes into the roast). Bake at 325 for 4-6 hours until tender. If your pan is tight enough, none of the beer liquid will cook off. If your pan lid is not tight, wrap foil over the top first, then put the lid on. This should help seal it. If the liquid is baking off too fast, add some water to the pan and continue to cook.
Remember cooking wild game is always a crap shoot. You never know if your meat will be dry until you cook that first roast. If it is dry. Don’t waste it! Make hash. Or slice it cross ways and top it with gravy, make jerky, and eat it anyway. I will post more recipes that deal with dry meats.

Oh, and sorry for not having a post cooked picture. My guys were so hungry when they got home that they ate it before I could take a picture of it. It was amazing. Remember, if you don’t have a good shot..don’t take it. The flavor of your game depends on it.

2 thoughts on “First Time Hunter: Bags the Big-Little

Leave a Reply

