Easy Homemade Croutons: More Than Just Salad Toppers

Croutons can make cooking easier not to mention tastier.

I use them in many of my wild game dishes. I love them with all kinds of wild game and domestic meats. Homemade croutons are amazing in my pheasant cordon blue and in my luxurious venison meatloaf recipes. You can use the store bought kind, but if you have the time, make the homemade version for delicious results.

Croutons are super easy to make. I make them in large quantities and store them in a jar on the counter…I have been known to eat them for a snack too!

image

Cut  your old bread into equal sized squares. I use an electric knife to help me cut perfect little squares. Be careful not to cut yourself! One loaf of stale bread or about 25 slices.

image

Butter and garlic make everything taste better. 2 cloves of garlic and 1/4 cup butter.

image

I add a little olive oil to help crisp up my croutons. 1/4 cup of olive oil

image

Melt them together. Make sure your garlic is pureed with a micro plane zester or pureed with the edge of your knife. No one likes to bite into a large chunk of garlic.

image

Drizzle the butter mixture over the croutons and toss. Bake for about 2 hours at 200 degrees. If you cook them any hotter they may get too brown. I stir them about every 1/2 an hour while they are baking.

Make sure you have some croutons on hand for whats coming up later this week.

Up next…venison meat loaf with roasted root vegetables.

 

3 thoughts on “Easy Homemade Croutons: More Than Just Salad Toppers

  1. hi babes u have a good column but when u show the recipes with pics why isn;t theree a url to p;rint just the recipe

    1. Thanks Doug- My goal is to have this site running with efficiency and with the qualities you see on others sites. I haven’t had much time to dedicate to the site in the past as I do now …hang in there and look for some great easy printable recipes soon!
      Lisa

Leave a Reply

