Something is Fishy: Breakfast?

Cooking blue gills
Butter and fish

Fish For breakfast??

This is not normal for us, but I think I like it. My husband offered to cook breakfast with George. When I saw the fry pan come out, I figured we were having eggs. This will be good. Then I remembered we were out of eggs, and I heard him ask George, “Where did the fish go?” What??

First fish of the season is always the best. Fishing opener was on Saturday here in Wisconsin, but the lake was still frozen. George was dying to go fishing.  The Ice went out fully yesterday and our son, George caught 4 nice size sunnies (also known as blue gills).

They were amazing, even for breakfast! They were simply descaled and sautéed in butter.

George asked if we could have fish again for dinner tonight? Well honey boy, that’s up to you. We have to “have” fish in order to eat them.

Sunnies
Fish for breakfast

A great start to another beautiful day.

Eating fish
George seems a little older than 12…drinking his coffee.

My outdoorsman with his coffee, blueberry-walnut smoothie and fresh cool air. Any day can be a retreat. Take time to be and do the things you love =Bliss.

image

Easy wild living.

Happy Tuesday everyone. I leave you with a couple of my favorite quotes.  Here is a phrase from my friend Ron Schara, “take a kid fishing today” and an oldie, but goodie. “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, teach a man to fish and you feed him for a life time”.

The fish were caught the night before and filleted.  We stored them in the fridge covered with plastic wrap. I do not recommend keeping fish for long with the skin still on. Your fish will be fishier the longer they stay like that. Hence, the reason we had them for breakfast. Keeping them on ice helps too. I am not a huge fan of frozen sunnies or crappies. Their texture changes. Make do with what you catch. Have some shrimp on hand to supplement what you don’t catch or make bluegill chowder!

Pomoxis nigromaculatus

We also have a rule for the kids, you eat what you kill, unless we have a pest problem, then we will make exceptions. No waste here!

2 thoughts on “Something is Fishy: Breakfast?

  1. Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; many of us have developed some
    nice practices and we are looking to exchange solutions with other folks, please shoot me an e-mail
    if interested.

Leave a Reply

