Food Fight: Exercise vs. Pizza & Cake

Christina Ericksdon
I wish I could run like this!

Ever feel like you are in a constant food fight?

Not a typical food fight in the high school lunch room, where kids are literally throwing food at each other, but one that is a little more subtle. More like a fight between “good” vs. “bad”.

Wild Berry Cake
“I’ll do anything for a piece of that cake mom!”

These are the real food fights we battle every day. Do you tell yourself things like; I shouldn’t eat that, but it tastes so good, or I know if I eat that I won’t feel so good afterwards, or even ask, “is this good for me?”  You’re not alone. The fight against what is good for us and what tastes good is a daily dilemma for most people.

Recently, I was getting ready to go for run. I had to think of what I had eaten that morning to determine if it was going to be a good run or not. I know from past runs or exercise work-outs, that when I eat lots of sugary foods I cannot run or perform as well. I also, know if I eat too much salt I can swell up like a balloon and my feet resemble the feet from the movie character Shrek. As I get older, (which is happening all too fast) I feel the effects of my food choices more easily. If I consume a diet to high in sugar, salt or fats I can feel the effects sometimes for days and I can’t do the activities I’d like to do very well. I love to feel good, but I also like to eat good tasting foods and sugar too. How do we find a balance that will help us do the things we enjoy, but also eat the things that taste so blasted good?

The first step in winning the food fight is figuring out what foods seem to bother you. When I first realized my sugar vs. running dilemma, I cut out most sugars out during the work week so I could exercise without feeling crummy. Then on Friday nights, I would reward myself with a yummy healthier version of a sugary treat and homemade pizza (my one true weakness).

My running vs. sugar has become less of a battle, but I do slip up here and there. On those days when I’m not feeling at the top of my game, I will walk, because I always feel better after doing something instead of nothing. Life is all about adjustments and persevering through battles and because we live in the land of plenty; food will always be one battle we will fighting for a long time.

Now that the good weather is finally here I am seeing people outside exercising everywhere and it encourages me to do the same. It also makes me think twice about eating that second cookie or loading up on something that will create more of a challenge than putting on my running shoes or worse, my swim suit.

This Friday night my body will be soar and I’ll feel worn out, but I will be entirely content when I Thank the Good Lord for pizza and cake. It always tastes better when I’ve worked hard for it!

Enjoy the battle!

Lisa’s Pizza Dough

2 2/3 cups bread flour

1 tsp yeast

1 ½ tsp coarse salt

9 oz water at 110 degrees

2 Tablespoons of olive oil, divided

Cusinart Food Processor
My little work horse!

In a bowl or food processor combined yeast, salt and flour together, add water and oil. Mix in the food

Pizza dough in the food processor
See how the dough forms together…now it’s done!

processor until dough forms a ball (30-45 seconds) or knead by hand until dough is somewhat smooth (6-8 minutes) on a floured surface.

Kneading pizza dough
Dough will be very sticky!
Kneading pizza dough
Work it baby!

Place dough in a well oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap.

Pizza dough just haning out
Aaah resting…so peaceful.

Let dough rise for about 1 ½ hours until doubled in size.

Divide dough into 2 equal pieces and stretch out each piece by hand on parchment paper with your fingertips (dough will be sticky).  Brush each pizza crust with remaining oil. Top with your favorite toppings and cheese. Bake in a preheated oven at 550 or as hot as your oven’s temp will go. Bake directly on the middle oven rack until toppings are bubbling and cheese is golden brown.

Pheasant pizza
Beautiful pizza

Parchment paper will turn brown and fragile so be sure to use a cookie sheet or peel when removing from the oven.

perfect pizza crust at home
Look at that beautiful crust!
2 thoughts on “Food Fight: Exercise vs. Pizza & Cake

  1. We enjoy making our own pizza and will have to try your recipe, it sounds good (and easy which I like).

Leave a Reply

