Bee Happy It’s Spring: Baking with Honey

DSC_0313

The new Bees are in their hives. The Queens are laying and my honey supply is dwindling. So hurry up and make some honey bees!

Making things with honey is very satisfying. I love knowing I’m using a wild natural sugar. This is honey oat bread! My favorite bread recipe.

DSC_0479
Honey Oatmeal Bread
The last of tree jars.
The last of three jars.

I love homemade bread but I try to limit how much I eat of it. Gluten doesn’t bode well with me. I should say more like bloats with me. My daughter a dietetics major, made a suggestion yesterday, that I should use regular flour because it has less gluten….she is so smart. So the next time I make this I will try it with AP flour. She is brilliant! As for this post, we’ve got full octane gluten full bread flour.

DSC_0426

 

The original recipe is almost 20 years old. Yes, I was a doodler.
The original recipe is almost 20 years old. Yes, I was a doodler.

I usually make this in my bread maker (I let it do all the kneading for me), but your can make it by hand. Both work great.

Pretty isn't she?
Pretty isn’t she?

 

I always use parchment paper.
I always use parchment paper.

Using parchment always makes life of a cook easier. Don’t bake with out it!

All rise...the honorable bread has entered the room.
All rise…the honorable bread has entered the room.

I slide my bread right on to my peel to let it rise so I disturb it as little as possible.

Ready to bake bread.
Ready to bake bread.

You will love this recipe. I promise!

Honey Oatmeal Bread

1 1/4 cup water

2 tsp yeast

3 tablespoons honey

1 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil

2 1/2 cup bread flour

2/3 cup old fashion oats

1 1/2 tsp salt

If you are using a bread maker, follow the manufacturer’s  instructions on the dough setting. Each bread maker is different. Continue with the recipe when the dough is ready for the final rise.o

By hand the old fashion way:

Mix the yeast and the water together with one tablespoon of the honey and let sit until puffy and foamy. Just like in the pic here.

Some seriously nice looking yeast!
Some seriously nice looking yeast!

Mix the dry ingredients together. Add the yeasty water and the rest of the honey and oil, Knead by hand until smooth (with the little lumps of oats), about 8 minutes. let the dough rest for about 30 minutes covered in a bowl. Punch the dough down and knead again for another 5 minutes. Place the dough on a piece of parchment paper on a peel or cookie sheet and spray dough with olive oil and cover with plastic.  Set dough in a warm spot and let rise until doubled in size.

Preheat the over to 350 degrees. Bake until bread is golden brown, about 35 minutes.

How's this for cuteness? They go well with my favorite things!
How’s this for cuteness? They go well with my favorite things! Bread, butter, honey, kittens, and my  sweet Gee~!

PS I love my new camera!

 

 

Leave a Reply

