Here Chicky Chicky Chicky…Fighting off the Wild Things with Chocolate Chip Cookies

Fox

Not so fast foxy loxy!  Would you like a chocolate chip cookie?

image

These chickens are 11 days old.  Amazing! They are huge already. Granted they are fryers and they grow quickly.

I’ve had chickens twice now. Both times they were all layers. All were lost to the local Foxes, dogs and telephone man (I’ll save that story for another day). I will admit, I did shed a tear or two after my favorite chicken, named Agnes was murdered by one smart fox! It was fun having a chicken follow you around while gardening and be content to sit on your lap. She was know to jump up on my shoulder if I didn’t come and pet her when I opened to coop in the morning. She was a good chicken. Sniff, sniff.

I’ve learned you never give your farm animals names. Especially cats that wonder up, because they always disappear. Despite attempts to collar or neuter them.

Now, since I shot my first deer, I think I’m over being to attached to my food.  We’ll see. It’s a little different feeding, protecting, and caring for an animal you intend to eat. The comment from my friend who’s land I hunted on lady fall still haunts me occasionally, “I wondered if the cute deer I’ve been feeding all summer were going to get shot this hunting season?” Thanks Adam.

A black bear standing
Don’t you have something better to do?

I am learning to contend with bears now because of our bee hives. Great! One more wild animal to contend with and defend my food from. I haven’t seen bear scat(poop)here in the yard for about 7 years. About 3 years ago, a neighbor of ours (two houses away) was getting into her car at 4:30 am to go to work and there was a bear standing about 20 feet from her. She yelled at him to skidattle, but he didn’t move. She got into her car and backed out of the drive way and there he stood, looking at her, never moving a muscle…creepy!

Young Mountian Lion 117_1733

Last year a different neighbor (one house away) was working in her office with windows facing the drive way. When she looked up from her desk towards the top of the her driveway, there was a enormous cat that she described as, “should be in the zoo type of cat.” It was a cougar or also known as a mountain lion. Shaking she called her husband who in turn called me. He called, asking me where my kids were and that they should go in the house for a while. I didn’t let them play outside for over a week. Not the coolest thing for a mom to do. But hey, they are alive!.

To say we have predators is an understatement  We have bears, cougars, wolves, coyotes, foxes, badgers, coons, eagles and more! I can see it’s going to be a full time job keeping all my chicks alive.

Well if there are no up coming recipes for chicken you will know it did not fair well for my Henny Penny brood.

20081102_PendrellBidwell_Owl_Cutler_9902
More wild things hanging around…

My boys are playing a little basket ball as I write this. Hopefully there are no bears or cougars close by, but I do wonder if the DNR reports are true. And if the mouse and small vermin population really is at a low because of heavy snow cover in Canada and the owls made their way here, why wouldn’t other big things like wolves and cougars do the same thing?

Time to invite the boys in for a game of scrabble and chocolate chip cookies! Little will they know I may have saved them with chocolate chip cookies.

Here is my favorite cookie recipe. It is a little putzy, but oh so worth it!

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies (New York Times)

This is the best chocolate chip cookie recipe I have ever made homemade. The instructions recommend that you should let the dough chill for 24 hours and you should do this, but when we want cookies, we want them now so, go ahead and bake away! The only thing you can’t change is the flours or the recipe will not turn out. Make sure you measure accurately. After teaching cooking lessons the past few years, I have found this is where most people cheat and wonder why it didn’t turn out. Use a knife to level things off and don’t pack the flour, spoon it in the measuring cup with a gentle tap. Happy Baking!

2 cups minus 2 Tbsp (8 1/2 ounces) cake flour
1 2/3 cups (8 1/2 ounces) bread flour
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/4 tsp Kosher salt
2 1/2 sticks butter
1 1/4 cups (10 ounces) brown sugar
1 cup plus 2 Tbsp (8 ounces) white sugar
2 large eggs
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 pounds dark chocolate chips or my boy’s favorite way is with milk chocolate chunks.
Additional Kosher salt for tops of cookies

Directions:

Sift flours, baking soda, baking powder and salt into a medium sized bowl. Set aside.

Mix butter and sugars together until creamy, about 5 minutes or until light colored and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after each egg. Add vanilla and mix.

Add dry ingredients in batches until just combined. Do not over mix. Add chocolate chips or chunks (save some for the tops of the cookies).

Cover dough with plastic. Be sure to put plastic directly on dough to seal. Refrigerate for 24 hours before baking or be wild and naughty and them bake now!

After the dough has chilled, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Scoop 8-10 balls of dough using a 2 Tbsp cookie scoop and place onto a baking sheet at least 2 inches apart. I like to add more chips on the tops of each cookie ball that don’t have dough on them. Next, add a light sprinkling salt on top of each cookie and bake until edges are golden brown, 12-15 minutes. Allow cookies to rest on the cookie sheet for a couple of minutes before removing them so they have time to set. Repeat with remaining cookies. Give away any remaining cookies or you will eat them all!

this recipe is adapted from The New York Times recipe, originally adapted from Jacques Torres.

One thought on “Here Chicky Chicky Chicky…Fighting off the Wild Things with Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. You have a nice little game preserve there at your house! Just skunks and raccoons here, butI lose a lot of pigeons to the neighborhood cats. Your cookie recipe sounds good, we’ll have to try it now that I’m low on homemade cookies.

Leave a Reply

