Re-post Potato Love: Simple Roasted Potatoes

Red potatoes
Mr. & Mrs. Potato and their two children.
My husband asked, " do the french make these" I said no, there not pretty enough!
My husband asked, ” do the french make these” I said no, there not pretty enough!” If they do, they line them up in a pan and call the something fancy Like, potatoes Anna. You must  say this with your nose in the air to get the full effect.

I know I posted this not too long ago, but now that fall is here, you can turn the oven on and cook to your hearts content! I am having a small dinner party this weekend and these are on the menu, along with halibut and braised short ribs….two very different things, but the potatoes go perfectly with both! Yes a recipe is coming for braised ribs!

There is not much wild about potatoes other than I am wild for them. I Love potatoes. Reds are my favorite. They have less starch and a smooth texture.

It’s easy to love humble things. Especially humble people. I love the not so humble people in my life too. Some people are more like rutabagaies; pungent, inconsistent and I can’t eat one everyday. Some people are like potatoes; sweet and smooth, and consistent and are always there for you. Like I said I love potatoes.

There is nothing special about the potato. Wait, what did I just say? There is sooo many special things about the potato. Let’s count just a few of them.

  1. Chips
  2. Fries
  3. Baked
  4. Stuffed
  5. Tossed
  6. Mashed
  7. Smashed (don’t get them mistaken for mashed)
  8. Boiled
  9. Roasted
  10. Fried (not to be confused with fries)

How many other veggies have that kind of an resume??

Enjoy the simple pleasure of a potato in one of my favorite forms.

Oven Roasted Red Potatoes

4 large red potatoes ( I like Nord or Adirondack red)

3 table spoon of olive oil

1-2 tsp Lawery’s seasoned salt.

Chop potatoes into large pieces, about 1 x 1″ size pieces. Toss with the oil. Sprinkle with salt and bake for 20-25 minutes. Super easy and goes well with any wild or tame meats.

I like roasted potatoes with grilled fish,
I like roasted potatoes with grilled fish,

More things I love…

Duffus's mew best friend! Daneetoo!
Duffus’s new best friend… Daneetoo!
Leave a Reply

