Trendy Turkey Soup

Trendy Turkey Soup

I recently got my hair cut short. I cut off about 15 inches, which is a big deal for me. I’ve had long hair for quite a while, about 10 years to be exact. Even my hair dresser had a hard time cutting it. I was ready though, in fact I had been thinking about it for two years. I knew exactly how I wanted to cut it when I finally decided it was time.

Yes, I love it!
After….Yes, I love it!

About 3 weeks after I cut my hair I noticed that some particular movie stars had decided to cut off all their hair too. And in styles that closely resembled the cut I had done! Copy cats!! The same it true of some food trends. I usually plan out what I’m going to write about months in advance. I’m still surprised when one of my food magazines or news papers will have the same idea. Do to my limited distribution, I am usually the one who looks like a copy cat.

Not long ago my daughter called me in an frantic panic and said, that the Pioneer Woman has stolen your recipe for feta veggie dip I published over a year ago. I calmed her down and said, that’s how it goes. Who ever has the larger voice wins. The same is true for this weeks column too, Turkey Soup.

Before and After shots
Before…

I had planned on writing this as a sorta “new” fun idea for leftover turkey. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement when I saw a huge recipe for turkey soup in the Food Network Cooking Magazine, the Thanksgiving issue. But, alas I will press on with un-original idea. Only because it’s still a good one.

Trends are just that, “trends.” I guess it’s not a bad thing that many of us in the food industry are on the same page. Come to think of it, It would be bad if I was out of touch, writing about foods no one is interested in cooking. The same goes for my hair, we all get sick of the same old thing and we are all ready for a change. Which brings me back to Thanksgiving and what I am thankful for: I am very thankful for the change in seasons and trends. Plus, I am happy to be giving you a perfect “trendy” recipe for leftover turkey!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Left-Over Turkey Soup

One whole leftover cooked turkey carcass
2 large onion cut into small diced pieces
5 carrots
5 stalks of celery
3 cloves of garlic minced
2 bay leaves
2-3 cups of leftover turkey meat
1 cup cooked wild rice
up to 1 cup of left over gravy
one pinch of dried thyme
salt and pepper to taste

Place the turkey carcass in a large pot and cover with about 6 quarts of water. Add one of the onions, 1 of the carrots, 2 stalks of the celery, bay leaves, thyme, garlic, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer broth for 2 hours over low heat.

While the broth is cooking, chop up the remaining vegetables into bite size pieces.

Pour the cooked broth through a stainer over another large pot. Discard bird carcass and all the solids. Bring the broth back to a boil and add chopped vegetables. Cook until veggies are tender, about 30 minutes. Add gravy, rice and chicken. Bring back to a simmer and simmer 5 more minutes.

20131204-123454.jpg

Leave a Reply

