Cooking with Wild Game · Recipes

Morning Bird Muffins

Mornings on the lake
View out my window

Good morning everyone! What a beautiful morning here in western Wisconsin! The birds are chirping, the sun rise is sparkling out across the water. The sweet spicy smell of meadow flowers is in the air! I was so inspired by it all, I created a new muffin for our catering business, Morning Bird Muffins.

Muffins cooking

I love muffins and what better way to wake up, than to the delectable smell of muffins baking. If you ever have trouble waking children up in the morning just bake muffins. It works every time. Today my boys (our daughter is out-of-town) woke up to the scent of blueberries, almonds and toasted granola.

Breakfast anyone?

I’m having a hard time getting this written for you. As you can see my muffin is sitting in front of my computer and I keep sneaking bites!

Your so hard to work with you!

It’s a very simple recipe. All I did was add blueberries, toasted granola, almond flavoring and sunflower seeds to our favorite muffin batter. For your convenience, I have added a simple muffin recipe that will give you the same results.

Anyone want some muffins??

As for my giant pan of muffins, they will be given away to some lucky friends…that is after we eat a few.

Basic Muffin Batter

2 cups AP flour

1 cup sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 stick of butter, melted

1 egg

1/2 cup whole milk

1 tsp vanilla

In a large bowl, mix all dry ingredients with melted butter until batter resembles damp sand. In another small bowl, mix wet ingredients together and pour into butter and flour mixture Fold in until flour is incorporated. Fold in other ingredients and scoop into greased muffin pan. Bake at 350 for 20-30 min. until a tooth pick comes out clean.

Possible muffin ingredients;

1 cup of blueberries

1/2 cup toasted granola

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

1/2 tsp almond flavoring

Happy Baking!

One thought on “Morning Bird Muffins

Leave a comment